Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Ladybird Pre-School operates within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

In our setting we maintain the ratio of adults to children in the setting that is set through the EYFS framework. This helps us to:

  • Give time and attention to each child.
  • Talk with the children about their interests and activities.
  • Help children to experience and benefit from the activities we provide.
  • Allow the children to explore and be adventurous in safety.

Children’s development and learning

The provision for children’s development and learning is guided by the EYFS Framework and Guidance, published by the Department for Education and Skills, which sets out the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five.

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our setting helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.

The guidance divides children’s learning and development into seven areas, 3 prime and 4 specific:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

For each area, the guidance sets out ‘goals’. These ‘goals’ state what it is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year of their education.

Under each area of learning small ‘steps’ are set out which describe the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to achievement of the goal.

  • Our setting sees parents as partners in helping each child to learn and develop and in which parents help to shape the service it offers.